igdrasil

Archive for January 16th, 2013|Daily archive page

Zombie Lenin by Ekaterina Sedia

In Short Story on January 16, 2013 at 6:55 pm

World02B_1024x1024

Dear readers, in association with Apex Publications, please find below the short story “Zombie Lenin” by Ekaterina Sedia, first published in Fantasy Sampler and republished in The Apex Book of World SF 2

STAY TUNED FOR THE BOOK GIVEAWAY – WE WILL SOON BE OFFERING ONE PAPERBACK OF THE APEX BOOK OF WORLD SF AND THE APEX BOOK OF WORLD SF 2

Roberto Mendes

ISF Editor in Chief

Zombie Lenin

Ekaterina Sedia

“Zombie Lenin” @ Ekaterina Sedia 2007. First published in Fantasy Sampler.

Republished from the Apex Book of World SF 2

1.

It all started when I was eight years old, on a school trip to the Mausoleum. My mum was there to chaperon my class, and it was nice because she held me when I got nauseous on the bus. I remember the cotton tights all the girls wore, and how they bunched on our knees and slid down so that we had to hike them up as discreetly as eight year olds could. It was October, and my coat was too short; Mum said it was fine even though the belt came disconcertingly close to my underarms, and the coat didn’t even cover my butt. I didn’t believe her; I frowned at the photographer as he aligned his camera, pinning my mum and me against the backdrop of St Basil’s Cathedral. “Smile,” Mum whispered. We watched the change of guard in front of the Mausoleum. Read the rest of this entry »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers